Election Day is May 16th, 2023

Cynthia Mickelson's term ends on June 30th, 2023. The candidates that have filed petitions include Dawn Marie Johnson, Brian Mattson and Nicholas Zachariasen. The polls are open from 7:00 am until 7:00 pm.

Registered voters can vote in-person at any of our 13 voting centers

Voter Registration

You may register to vote in the annual election by completing a voter registration form and returning it to your county auditor.

Absentee Voting

If you are unable to cast a ballot on Election Day, you may be eligible to vote by absentee ballot. To vote by absentee ballot, a voter must request an absentee ballot application from the county in which they reside.  

Registered voters can vote in-person prior to election day by bringing along a valid photo identification card (ID), such as a driver’s license, tribal photo ID, local high school ID, college or university ID from a South Dakota institution, or a passport or other federal government-issued ID. If a voter does not have a photo ID, they must sign a personal identification affidavit and will vote on a regular ballot.

Absentee voting will take place in the conference room inside the lobby of the Instructional Planning Center, 201 E 38th Street.  Absentee ballots will be available from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday from May 1 through May 15.

In-Person Absentee Voting

The voter will present an acceptable form of identification

  • SD Driver License or nondriver ID card

  • US Government photo ID (passport, military, VA, FBI, Secret Service, IRS, etc)

  • Tribal photo id

  • A current student id issued from a SD high school or SD accredited institution of higher learning

Absentee Voting By Mail

An absentee ballot may be mailed to a registered voter of the Sioux Falls School District by sending an absentee ballot application to the county auditor’s office. The auditors will forward the request to the school district.

The applications may be mailed to:

Leah Anderson

Minnehaha County Auditor

415 N. Dakota Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD  57104

Sheri Lund

Lincoln County Auditor

104 N Main Ave
Canton, SD  57013